Posted in:

90th Annual Academy Awards: And the Winners Were

'The Shape of Water' Leads the Pack with 4 Wins

“The Shape of Water,” which entered the ceremony as the night’s leader in number of nominations with 13, won the most number of Oscars, with four including Best Picture, Best Director (to Guillermo del Toro) and Best Original Score (to Alexandre Desplat).

The WWII drama “Dunkirk” was runner-up with three Oscars.

As expected, Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell — both from “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” — each took home acting Academy Awards.

Gary Oldman won for Best Actor for his portrayal of Winston Churchill in “Darkest Hour”.

Multiple Emmy-award winner and current “Mom” star Allison Janney received the Best Supporting Actress Academy Award for her portrayal of Tonya Harding’s mother LaVona Golden in “I, Tonya”.

Jordan Peele, best known as half of the Comedy Central comic duo Key & Peele, won Best Original Screenplay for his hit horror film “Get Out”:

Best Adapted Screenplay winner James Ivory (for “Call Me By Your Name”) became the oldest Academy Award winner at age 89.

Basketball legend Kobe Bryant won an Oscar for producing the Best Animated Short Film entitled “Dear Basketball”.

Jimmy Kimmel emceed the ceremony. It was first time a person had hosted the Oscars in back-to-back years since Billy Crystal in 1997 and 1998.

Here is the complete listing of winners:

-Best Picture: “The Shape of Water”
-Best Actor: Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”
-Best Actress: Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
-Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”
-Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
-Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
-Best Original Screenplay: Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
-Best Adapted Screenplay: James Ivory, “Call Me By Your Name” based on the novel by André Aciman
-Best Documentary Feature: “Icarus” – Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan
-Best Sound Editing: “Dunkirk” – Richard King and Alex Gibson
-Best Sound Mixing: “Dunkirk” – Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker and Gary A. Rizzo
-Best Cinematography: Roger A. Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”
-Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat, “The Shape of Water”
-Best Original Song: ‘Remember Me’ from “Coco” – Music and Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
-Best Foreign Language Film: “A Fantastic Woman” (Chile) in Spanish – Directed by Sebastián Lelio
-Best Makeup And Hairstyling: “Darkest Hour” – Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick
-Best Costume Design: “Phantom Thread” – Mark Bridges
-Best Animated Short Film: “Dear Basketball” – Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant
-Best Animated Feature: “Coco” – Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson
-Best Production Design: “The Shape of Water” – Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin
-Best Visual Effects: “Blade Runner 2049” – John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover
-Best Film Editing: “Dunkirk” – Lee Smith
-Best Documentary Short Subject: “Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405” – Frank Stiefel
-Best Live Action Short Film: “The Silent Child” – Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton

Interactive Twitter Poll

TV Tuesday Audio Segment with Douglas Pucci joining Scott Nolte on Y100.1 FM (Northwest Iowa)

Twitter and Facebook

TV Tuesday

TV Tuesday Audio Segment with Douglas Pucci joining Scott Nolte on Y100.1 FM (Northwest Iowa)

Highlights of the 90th Annual Academy Awards: