Posted in:

BAFTA Film Awards: ‘Oppenheimer’ Tops List With Five Honors, ‘Poor Things’ Gets Five

Christopher Nolan’s Oppenheimer was the big winner at the BAFTA Film Awards, with seven wins for his epic biographical thriller. Among those were key categories Best Film, Director, Actor (Cillian Murphy), Supporting Actor (Robert Downey Jr.), Editing (Jennifer Lame), Cinematography (Hoyte van Hoytema) and Original Score (Ludwig Goransson).

Searchlight’s Poor Things won five BAFTAs including Leading Actress for Emma Stone as well as Costume, Make Up & Hair, Production Design and Special Visual Effects.

From Focus, The Holdovers won two categories: Supporting Actress for Da’Vine Joy Randolph and Casting.

Going home empty handed were Killers of the Flower Moon, which had nine nominations; Bradley Cooper’s Netflix entry Maestro, which had seven; and the biggest box office movie of 2023, Warner Bros and Greta Gerwig’s Barbie.

What follows is the complete list of winners:

Best Film

“Anatomy of a Fall”

“The Holdovers”

“Killers of The Flower Moon”

“Oppenheimer” – WINNER

“Poor Things”

Outstanding British Film

“All of Us Strangers”

“How to Have Sex”


“The Old Oak”

“Poor Things”

“Rye Lane”




“The Zone of Interest” – WINNER

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

“Blue Bag Life”

“Bobi Wine: The People’s President”

“Earth Mama” – WINNER

“How To Have Sex”

“Is There Anybody Out There?”

"The Zone of Interest"

Film Not in the English Language

“20 Days In Mariupol”

“Anatomy of a Fall”

“Past Lives”

“Society of the Snow”

“The Zone of Interest” – WINNER


“20 Days In Mariupol” – WINNER

“American Symphony”

“Beyond Utopia”

“Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie”


Animated Film

“And the Boy and The Heron” – WINNER

“Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget”


“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”


Andrew Haigh, “All of Us Strangers”

Justine Triet, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Alexander Payne, “The Holdovers”

Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”

Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”

L to R: Cillian Murphy (as J. Robert Oppenheimer) and writer, director, and producer Christopher Nolan on the set of OPPENHEIMER.

Adapted Screenplay

Andrew Haigh, “All of Us Strangers”

Cord Jefferson, “American Fiction” – WINNER

Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”

Tony McNamara, “Poor Things”

Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”

Original Screenplay

Justine Triet and Arthur Harari, “Anatomy of a Fall” – WINNER

Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach, “Barbie”

David Hemingson, “The Holdovers”

Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer, “Maestro”

Celine Song, “Past Lives”

Leading Actor

Barry Keoghan, “Saltburn”

Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”

Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Colman Domingo, “Rustin”

Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”

Teo Yoo, “Past Lives”

Leading Actress

Carey Mulligan, “Maestro”

Emma Stone, “Poor Things” – WINNER

Fantasia Barrino, “The Color Purple”

Margot Robbie, “Barbie”

Sandra Hüller, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Vivian Oparah, “Rye Lane”

Supporting Actor

Dominic Sessa, “The Holdovers”

Jacob Elordi, “Saltburn”

Paul Mescal, “All of Us Strangers”

Robert De Niro, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”

Da'Vine Joy Randolph stars as Mary Lamb in director Alexander Payne's THE HOLDOVERS, a Focus Features release.

Supporting Actress

Claire Foy, “All of Us Strangers”

Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”

Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers” – WINNER

Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”

Rosamund Pike, “Saltburn”

Sandra Hüller, “The Zone of Interest”

Original Score

Robbie Robertson, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Ludwig Göransson, “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Jerskin Fendrix, “Poor Things”

Anthony Willis, “Saltburn”

Daniel Pemberton, “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran, “Barbie”

Jacqueline West, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Dave Crossman and Janty Yates, “Napoleon”

Ellen Mirojnick, “Oppenheimer”

Holly Waddington, “Poor Things” – WINNER

Production Design

Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer, “Barbie”

Jack Fisk and Adam Willis, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Ruth De Jong and Claire Kaufman, “Oppenheimer”

Shona Heath, James Price and Zsuzsa Mihalek, “Poor Things” – WINNER

Chris Oddy, Joanna Maria Kuś and Katarzyna Sikora, “The Zone of Interest”

Emma Stone in Poor Things. Photo Courtesy of Searchight Pictures.© 2023 Searchlight Pictures All Rights Reserved.

Special Visual Effects

Jonathan Bullock, Charmaine Chan, Ian Comley and Jay Cooper, “The Creator”

Theo Bialek, Stephane Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot and Guy Williams, “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”

Neil Corbould, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland and Alex Wuttke, “Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”

Henry Badgett, Neil Corbould, Charley Henley and Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet, “Napoleon”

Tim Barter, Simon Hughes, Dean Koonjul and Jane Paton, “Poor Things” – WINNER

Make Up and Hair

Kay Georgiou and Thomas Nellen, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Sian Grigg, Kay Georgiou, Kazu Hiro and Lori McCoy-Bell, “Maestro”

Jana Carboni, Francesco Pegoretti, Satinder Chumber and Julia Vernon, “Napoleon”

Luisa Abel, Jaime Leigh McIntosh, Jason Hamer and Ahou Mofid, “Oppenheimer”

Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston, “Poor Things” – WINNER


Laurent Sénéchal, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Thelma Schoonmaker, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Jennifer Lame, “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Yorgos Mavropsaridis, “Poor Things”

Paul Watts, “The Zone of Interest”


Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of The Flower Moon”

Matthew Libatique, “Maestro”

Hoyte van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer” – WINNER

Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”

Łukasz Żal, “The Zone of Interest”

(l-r.) Dominic Sessa stars as Angus Tully, Paul Giamatti as Paul Hunham and Da'Vine Joy Randolph as Mary Lamb in director Alexander Payne's THE HOLDOVERS, a Focus Features release.


Kahleen Crawford, “All of Us Strangers”

Cynthia Arra, “Anatomy of a Fall”

Susan Shopmaker, “The Holdovers” – WINNER

Isabella Odoffin, “How to Have Sex”

Ellen Lewis and Rene Haynes, “Killers of The Flower Moon”


Angelo Bonanni, Tony Lamberti, Andy Nelson, Lee Orloff and Bernard Weiser, “Ferrari”

Richard King, Steve Morrow, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder and Dean Zupancic, “Maestro”

Chris Burdon, James H. Mather, Chris Munro and Mark Taylor, “Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”

Willie Burton, Richard King, Kevin O’Connell and Gary A. Rizzo, “Oppenheimer”

Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers, “The Zone of Interest” – WINNER

British Short Animation

“Crab Day” – WINNER

“Visible Mending”

“Wild Summon”

British Short Film

“Festival of Slaps”


“Jellyfish and Lobster” – WINNER

“Such A Lovely Day”


EE Rising Star

Phoebe Dynevor

Ayo Edebiri

Jacob Elordi

Mia Mckenna-Bruce – WINNER

Sophie Wilde