Posted in:

‘Murphy Brown’ Reboot Adds Three Additional Original Cast Members

Faith Ford, Joe Regalbuto and Grant Shaud All Set to Return

Faith Ford (Corky Sherwood), Joe Regalbuto (Frank Fontana) and Grant Shaud (Miles Silverberg) will reprise their original characters from 1988 to 1998 sitcom “Murphy Brown” when it returns for 13 new episodes next fall on CBS. Warner Bros. Television, producers of the original series, will produce the new multi-camera comedy with original creator Diane English serving as writer/executive producer through her Bend in the Road Productions banner. Bergen will also be an executive producer.

During the show’s original run on CBS, “Muprhy Brown” received 62 Emmy nominations (with 18 wins), 15 Golden Globe nominations (with three wins), three Screen Actors Guild awards, five Directors Guild nominations (with two wins) and four Writers Guild nominations (with two wins). Bergen won five Emmy Awards and a Golden Globe Award.

CBS will not announce its fall 2018 primetime line-up until the second week of May. But common logic could point to a return to the Monday 9 p.m. ET half-hour.