Posted in:

Players Announced for Major League Baseball’s 89th All-Star Game

The selections for Major League Baseball’s 89th Midsummer Classic, taking place on Tuesday, July 17, 2018 at Nationals Park in Washington, D.C. and airing on Fox, are as follows:

American League All-Star Roster

Catcher: Wilson Ramos – Tampa Bay
1st Base: Jose Abreu – Chicago White Sox
2nd Base: Jose Altuve – Houston (top vote-getter with 4.85 million votes)
3rd Base: Jose Ramirez – Cleveland
Shortstop: Manny Machado – Baltimore
Outfield: Mookie Betts – Boston
Outfield: Mike Trout – Los Angeles Angels
Outfield: Aaron Judge – NY Yankees
Designated Hitter: J.D. Martinez – Boston

Trevor Bauer – Cleveland
Jose Berrios – Minnesota
Aroldis Chapman – New York Yankees
Gerrit Cole – Houston
Edwin Diaz – Seattle
J.A. Happ – Toronto
Joe Jimenez – Detroit
Craig Kimbrel – Boston
Chris Sale – Boston
Luis Severino – New York Yankees
Blake Treinen – Oakland
Justin Verlander – Houston

Catcher: Salvador Perez – Kansas City
1st Base: Mitch Moreland – Boston
2nd Base: Gleyber Torres – New York Yankees
3rd Base: Alex Bregman – Houston
Shortstop: Francisco Lindor – Cleveland
Outfield: Michael Brantley – Cleveland
Outfield: Shin-Soo Choo – Texas
Outfield: Mitch Haniger – Seattle
Outfield: George Springer – Houston
Designated Hitter: Nelson Cruz – Seattle

National League All-Star Roster

Catcher: Wilson Contreras – Chicago Cubs
1st Base: Freddie Freeman – Atlanta
2nd Base: Javier Baez – Chicago Cubs
3rd Base: Nolan Arenado – Colorado
Shortstop: Brandon Crawford – San Francisco
Outfield: Nick Markakis – Atlanta
Outfield: Matt Kemp – Los Angeles Dodgers
Outfield: Bryce Harper – Washington

Patrick Corbin – Arizona
Jacob deGrom – New York Mets
Sean Doolittle – Washington
Mike Foltynewicz – Atlanta
Josh Hader – Milwaukee
Brad Hand – San Diego
Kenley Jansen – Los Angeles Dodgers
Jon Lester – Chicago Cubs
Miles Mikolas – St. Louis
Aaron Nola – Philadelphia
Max Scherzer – Washington
Felipe Vazquez – Pittsburgh

Catcher: Buster Posey – San Francisco
Catcher: J.T. Realmuto – Miami
1st Base: Paul Goldschmidt – Arizona
1st Base: Joey Votto – Cincinnati
2nd Base: Ozzie Albies – Atlanta
2nd Base: Scooter Gennett – Cincinnati
3rd Base: Eugenio Suarez – Cincinnati
Shortstop: Trevor Story – Colorado
Outfield: Charlie Blackmon – Colorado
Outfield: Lorenzo Cain – Milwaukee
Outfield: Christian Yelich – Milwaukee

Twenty-five players are first-time All-Stars; three of them are in the starting lineup in the game in their very first career selection.

The Fox network began airing this annual game since 1997. Last year’s All-Star Game, which took place in Miami, FL on July 11, 2017 and was won by the American League 2-1 in 10 innings, delivered a viewership of 9.28 million and a 2.34 rating in the adults 18-49 demographic, according to Nielsen.