Posted in:

Which Tennis Player Has Won Wimbledon the Most Times?

Wimbledon, the oldest and one of the most prestigious tennis tournaments, has seen many legendary players grace its courts. With the introduction of the Open Era in 1968, professional players were allowed to compete alongside amateurs, transforming the competition’s landscape. Here are the top five male players with the most Wimbledon singles titles, listed in numerical order.

This year’s competition looks to be one of the most unpredictable in recent history. Uncertainty over the fitness of Novak Djokovic, coupled with injuries to Rafael Nadal open the floor to new players looking to write their name in the history books. 

Defending champion Carlos Alcaraz arrives as one of the favourites, hoping to break the mould of the traditional big three in tennis who have dominated the sport over the last decade, consistently topping the Wimbledon winner odds.

Victory for the Spaniard will be a second Major this year after winning Roland Garros, which puts him in contention for a career Grand Slam. But how will he compare to some of the greatest to have graced the Wimbledon court? 

In this article, we take a look at some of the most successful champions at Wimbledon and the players with the most titles. Read on to find out more. 

Roger Federer – 8 Titles

Roger Federer holds the record for the most Wimbledon men’s singles titles with eight championships.

He picked up consecutive victories between 2003 and 2007, while also winning in 2009, 2012, and 2017. 

Known for his elegant style and exceptional skill on grass, Federer dominated the tournament in the 2000s, with his last win in 2017 over Marin Cilic further solidified his legacy as the greatest grass-court player of all time. Federer’s achievements have set a high standard in the Open Era​. 

Pete Sampras – 7 Titles

Pete Sampras, a dominant force in the 1990s, claimed seven Wimbledon titles, etching his name in tennis history. From 1993 to 2000, Sampras reigned supreme on the grass courts, defeating prominent names like Boris Becker, Andre Agassi, and Goran Ivanišević. His serve-and-volley game, marked by a powerful serve and exceptional net play, was perfectly suited to the fast grass surface of Wimbledon.

Sampras was one of the most composed players in the modern game, showing the mental toughness and strategic prowess that allowed him to excel under pressure. The now 52-year-old blossomed early in his career, and demonstrated fearlessness that often led to turning matches around in critical moments. 

The best example of this is perhaps his 1998 final against Goran Ivanišević. Despite Ivanišević’s powerful serve, Sampras managed to break at crucial moments, ultimately winning in straight sets.

Novak Djokovic – 7 Titles

Novak Djokovic has also claimed seven Wimbledon titles, with victories in 2011, 2014, and 2015, then four in a row between 2018 and 2022.

It looks as if injury will rule him out of this year’s tournament, but there is still a chance the 27-year-old heads to Paris to compete in the Olympics. 

The Serbian’s rivalry with Federer at Wimbledon, especially the epic 2019 final, is one of the highlights of his career. Djokovic’s consistent performance at Wimbledon has firmly established him as one of the greatest players of the Open Era.

Bjorn Borg – 5 Titles

Bjorn Borg was the first player in the Open Era to win five consecutive Wimbledon titles, from 1976 to 1980. Known for his calm demeanour and incredible baseline play, Borg dominated the tournament during his peak. 

His 1980 final against John McEnroe is considered one of the greatest matches in Wimbledon history. Borg’s success on both grass and clay courts made him a versatile and formidable player, further enhancing his legendary status​.