Posted in:

141 ‘Sister Survivors’ Appear at the 2018 ESPY Awards to Accept Their Arthur Ashe Awards for Courage

At the conclusion of the 2018 ESPY Awards on July 18, actress Jennifer Garner presented the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage to representatives for the “sister survivors” who spoke out against sexual abuse by their former USA Gymnastics team doctor Larry Nassar. He was convicted in 2017 and early 2018 after pleading guilty to multiple accounts of child pornography and sexual assault of minors.

Sarah Klein, Tiffany Thomas Lopez and Olympic medal-winning gymnast Aly Raisman delivered an acceptance speech, with more than 140 survivors standing beside them on stage.

Raisman closed the speech stating, “We may suffer alone – but we survive together.”