Posted in:

FX Orders Limited Series ‘Pistols’

Six-Episode Series Based on Sex Pistol' guitarist Steve Jones' Memoir 'Lonely Boy: Times from a Sex Pistol'

FX has greenlit six-episode limited series “Pistols” based on Sex Pistol’ guitarist Steve Jones’ memoir “Lonely Boy: Times from a Sex Pistol.” The series is from Danny Boyle, who will also serve as Executive Producer and director, and is created by Craig Pearce and written by Pearce and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

The logline: Anchored by Jones’ memoir, which offers a new perspective on one of rock’s greatest ever stories, “Pistol” moves from West London’s council estates, to Vivienne Westwood and Malcolm McLaren’s notorious Kings Road Sex shop, to the international controversy that came with the release of Never Mind the Bollocks, which is frequently listed as one of the most influential albums of all time. Their single “God Save the Queen” was banned by the BBC and reached Number 1 on the UK’s NME chart, but appeared at Number 2 on the Official UK Singles chart, leading to accusations that the song was purposely kept off the top spot. For the only time in chart history, the track was listed as a blank, to avoid offence to the monarchy.

“Pistol” stars Toby Wallace (“Babyteeth, Acute Misfortune”) as Steve Jones, Anson Boon (“Crawl”, “1917”) as John Lydon, Louis Partridge (“Enola Homes”) as Sid Vicious, Jacob Slater as Paul Cook, Fabien Frankel (“The Serpent”) as Glen Matlock, Dylan Llewellyn (“Derry Girls”) as Wally Nightingale, Sydney Chandler (“Don’t Worry Darling”) as Chrissie Hynde, Emma Appleton (“The Witcher”) as Nancy Spungen, and Maisie Williams (“Game of Thrones”) as punk icon Jordan

The series is produced by FX Productions and is set to begin production on March 7.