Posted in:

Netflix Orders Dramas ‘Virgin River’ and ‘Sweet Magnolias’

Ten Episodes Ordered for Each

Netflix has announced two new scripted drama series – “Virgin River” and “Sweet Magnolias.” Both shows received 10 episode orders and are based on best-selling romance novel collections that follow the lives of female protagonists.  “Virgin River,” which is based on the Harlequin book series by author Robyn Carr, focuses on a character named Melinda Monroe who answers an ad to work as a nurse practitioner in the remote California town of Virgin River thinking it will be the perfect place to start fresh and leave her painful memories behind. But she soon discovers that small-town living isn’t quite as simple as she expected and that she must learn to heal herself before she can truly make Virgin River her home.

“Sweet Magnolias,” based on the series of novels by Sherryl Woods, centers on three South Carolina women, best friends since high school, as they shepherd each other through the complexities of romance, career, and family.

Both “Virgin River” and “Sweet Magnolias” are expected in 2019.

Written by Marc Berman

Marc Berman

Marc Berman has been writing professionally since 1999 and is the author of the “Mr. Television” for Campaign US ( Most recently, Berman was the creator and Editor-in-Chief of website and newsletter TV Media Insights for Cross MediaWorks. From 1999-2011, he was the Senior Editor for Mediaweek and has also written for The New York Daily News, Variety, The Hollywood Reporter and Emmy Magazine, among others. Berman has also appeared on “Entertainment Tonight,” “Extra,” “Access Hollywood,” “Inside Edition,” “The CBS Evening News,” E!, CNN, CNBC, Fox News and MSNBC.

4121 posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *