Posted in:

ABC Announces Summer Schedule

Seven New Shows, Plus Five Returnees

ABC has unveiled its original programming plans this summer, which will include new Shonda Rhimes drama “Still Star-Crossed,” new scripted murder mystery “Somewhere Between,” new scripted comedy “Downward Dog,” new singing competition “Boy Band,” the revivals of “The Gong Show” and “Battle of the Network Stars,” two Steve Harney vehicles (“Steve Harvey’s Funderdome” and a new season of “Celebrity Family Feud”), and new seasons of “The $100,000 Pyramid,” “To Tell the Truth,” “The Bachelorette” and “Bachelor in Paradise.”

ABC will also feature a revival movie of classic “Dirty Dancing,” two-part miniseries “The Story of Diane,” “The 2017 ESPYs” and “CMA Fest 2017.” First up is “Downward Dog,” will preview after season finale of “Modern Family” on May 17 before it shifts to Tuesdays at 8 p.m. ET on May 23.

Wednesday, May 17
9:31: “Downward Dog” (Preview)

Sunday, May 21
8-11 p.m. “The Billboard Music Awards”

Monday, May 22
9-11 p.m. “The Bachelorette” (Season 13 Premiere)

Tuesday, May 23
8-8:30 p.m. “Downward Dog” (Time-Period Premiere)

Wednesday, May 24
8-11 p.m. “Dirty Dancing” (Three-Hour Movie Event)

Monday, May 29
10:01-11 p.m. “Still Star-Crossed” (Series Premiere)

Sunday, June 11
8-9 p.m. “Celebrity Family Feud” (Season 3 Premiere)
9-10 p.m. “Steve Harvey’s Funderdome” (Series Premiere)
10-11 p.m. “$100,000 Pyramid” (Season 2 Premiere)

Wednesday, June 14
10-11 p.m. “To Tell the Truth”

Thursday, June 22
8-10 p.m. “Boy Band”(Two-Hour Series Premiere)
10-11 p.m. “The Gong Show” (Series Premiere)

Thursday, June 29
8-9 p.m. “Boy Band”
9-10 p.m. “Battle of the Network Stars” (Series Premiere)

Wednesday, July 12
8-11 p.m. “The 2017 ESPYS”

Monday, July 24
10:01-11 p.m. “Somewhere Between” (Series Premiere)

Monday, July 31
8-10 p.m. “The Bachelorette: The Men Tell All”

Tuesday, Aug. 1
8-11 p.m. “CMA Fest 2017”

Tuesday, Aug. 8
8-10 p.m. “Bachelor in Paradise” (Season 4 Premiere)

Wednesday, Aug. 9
9-11 p.m. “The Story of Diana”: Part One

Thursday, Aug. 10
9-11 p.m. “The Story of Diana”: Part Two

Monday, Aug. 14
8-10:01 p.m. “Bachelor in Paradise” (Time Period Premiere)

ABC

Written by Marc Berman

Marc Berman

Marc Berman has been writing professionally since 1999 and is the author of the “Mr. Television” for Campaign US (www.campaignlive.com). Most recently, Berman was the creator and Editor-in-Chief of website and newsletter TV Media Insights for Cross MediaWorks. From 1999-2011, he was the Senior Editor for Mediaweek and has also written for The New York Daily News, Variety, The Hollywood Reporter and Emmy Magazine, among others. Berman has also appeared on “Entertainment Tonight,” “Extra,” “Access Hollywood,” “Inside Edition,” “The CBS Evening News,” E!, CNN, CNBC, Fox News and MSNBC.

3813 posts

2 Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Not a terrible schedule actually. I think most of the programming makes sense. Will be interesting to see if the Match Game will have any leftover eps for the summer months. I would also imagine What Would You Do will return on Fridays at some point.

  2. Battle of the Network Stars is the only program I care to watch from ABC. I can’t believe they actually brought it back what a dream.

    I’m interested to see what Boy Band does for them as I was one of the only people that enjoyed Rising Star as I hope ABC can get a hit talent competition on their hands.