Posted in:

2018 NIT Men’s Basketball Tournament First Round TV Schedule on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3

Not every team gets invited to the “Big Dance.” For the teams that almost made it to the Final 68 on Selection Sunday, there is the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

  • Twitter and Facebook

    Check out Hulu for 2 weeks free! Plans start at $7.99 after 1st 2 weeks. Terms apply.

  • Featured Posts

  • A total of 32 teams comprise the NIT. The first four teams left out of the 2018 NCAA tournament field will be the top-seeded teams in the 2018 NIT. They were Notre Dame, USC, Saint Mary’s and Baylor.

    The 2018 field consists of seven former NIT champs and 21 conferences are represented (out of 32 available).

    This year’s NIT will feature experimental rules including an extended 3-point line and widened lane area. The most notable experimental change will be that games will be played in four 10-minute quarters rather than two 20-minute halves.

    31 games will be played in this 81st annual edition of the tournament from March 13-29. The NIT Semifinals (Mar. 27) and Final (Mar. 29) will be held at New York City’s Madison Square Garden. All of these tournament games will be televised on the ESPN family of networks: ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN3 and ESPNU. The NIT will be available through ESPN’s digital platform WatchESPN, accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and connected devices to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

    NIT on ESPN family of networks

    The following are the scheduled game start times (all times Eastern; start times subject to change), locations and respective networks for the first two days of tournament action:

    First Round: Tuesday, March 13, 2018

    7:00 p.m. on ESPN: Baylor/Louisville Quadrant
    [7] Northern Kentucky @ [2] Louisville
    Announcers: Anish Shroff, Dino Gaudio

    7:00 p.m. on ESPN2: Baylor/Louisville Quadrant
    [8] Wagner @ [1] Baylor
    Announcers: Mark Neely, Fran Fraschilla

    8:00 p.m. on ESPNU: Baylor/Louisville Quadrant
    [6] Vermont @ [3] Middle Tennessee
    Announcers: Jim Barbar, Mark Wise

    8:00 p.m. on ESPN3: USC/Oklahoma State Quadrant
    [5] Boston College @ [4] Western Kentucky
    Announcers: Dave Weekley, Rob Kennedy

    9:00 p.m. on ESPN: Notre Dame/Marquette Quadrant
    [8] Hampton @ [1] Notre Dame
    Announcers: Bob Wischusen, Robbie Hummel

    9:00 p.m. on ESPN2: USC/Oklahoma State Quadrant
    [7] Florida Gulf Coast @ [2] Oklahoma State
    Announcers: Chuckie Kempf, Tim Welsh

    10:00 p.m. on ESPNU: Saint Mary’s/Utah Quadrant
    [8] Southeastern Louisiana @ [1] Saint Mary’s
    Announcers: Roxy Bernstein, Corey Williams

    10:00 p.m. on ESPN3: Notre Dame/Marquette Quadrant
    [6] Rider @ [3] Oregon
    Announcers: Trey Bender, Bill Herenda

    11:00 p.m. on ESPN2: USC/Oklahoma State Quadrant
    [8] UNC Asheville @ [1] USC
    Announcers: Dave Pasch, Bill Walton

    First Round: Wednesday, March 14, 2018

    7:00 p.m. on ESPN2: Notre Dame/Marquette Quadrant
    [7] Harvard @ [2] Marquette
    Announcers: Mitch Holthus, Mark Adams

    7:00 p.m. on ESPN3: Saint Mary’s/Utah Quadrant
    [6] Louisiana @ [3] LSU
    Announcers: Drew Fellios, Bob Valvano

    8:00 p.m. on ESPNU: Notre Dame/Marquette Quadrant
    [5] Temple @ [4] Penn State
    Announcers: Mike Corey, Malcom Huckaby

    9:00 p.m. on ESPN2: Baylor/Louisville Quadrant
    [4] Nebraska @ [5] Mississippi State
    Announcers: Richard Cross, Paul Biancardi

    9:00 p.m. on ESPN3: Saint Mary’s/Utah Quadrant
    [7] UC Davis @ [2] Utah
    Announcers: Steve Quis, Ben Braun

    10:00 p.m. on ESPNU: USC/Oklahoma State Quadrant
    [6] BYU @ [3] Stanford
    Announcers: Mike Crispino, Corey Williams

    10:00 p.m. on ESPN3: Saint Mary’s/Utah Quadrant
    [4] Boise State @ [5] Washington
    Announcers: Trey Bender, Jason Capel